Updated my Links page

For those of you just dying for things to read (even though you should actually be working on your Xmas contribution  😀 ), thought I’d add some sites I’ve enjoyed over the years. Credit goes to Sandy for telling me about the Mockingbird series — thanks, Hon. Some of the discipline is not exactly how I’d do it, but I give them a lot of credit for writing a long story and updating regularly!

If anyone else has stuff to recommend, feel free to share it with me and everyone else.  🙂

This entry was posted in Announcements, Recommendations. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Updated my Links page

  1. bahamagirl1996 says:

    The mockingbird series is hot !

  2. Peach says:

    Gracias Alyx. I’ll go check it out.

  3. Ash says:

    Thanks, Alyx. 😀
    I have just started reading Mockingbird series… and OMG… I wanna spank Dani myself so far! What a whiner! *swat!* *swat!* *swat!* She needs to be taken down a notch if you ask me!

    • Ash says:

      Oh also… What does XWP stand for?

      • Mil says:

        XWP – Xena Warrior Princess :).

        Thanks for the links, Alyx.

        • Ash says:

          But what has Dani and Emma got to do with XWP? Not that I have ever watched it, but I thought the lesbians in that show as Xena and Gabrielle. I really have towatch it some time… maybe over christmas.

          • Mil says:

            *comes back from taking a peek at the series* It looks like Dani and Emma are modern day versions of Xena and Gabrielle.

            Definitely check out the TV series’, Ash. They are one of the best things that ever happened for us “oldies” (and “really oldies” too, hey Alyx? ;)). It might not seem so awesome to you since most TV shows have queer characters these days, so you kinda have to try and view it within the context of its time.

            • Ash says:

              But… So… Is Gabrielle kinda the boss in the show? Or is it just fanfiction?

              • Alyx says:

                Xena is definitely the boss in the show, Ash. And usually in the fanfic too. But sometimes people turn things around. This particular series is what they would call “uber,” meaning they took the characters and placed them in a different setting/time. Sometimes it’s closer to the original than others.

                I used to LOVE the show. If you watch it now it might seem horribly campy, but it was meant to poke fun at the characters too. 🙂

                • Ash says:

                  But… I don’t really see how this is Xena fanfiction… I mean… It seems like just fiction to me! So they have the same height and hair colour, what else do they have in common with Xena and Gabrielle? I thought fanfiction meant you atleast used their names. Don’t get me wrong… I LOVED this series, and I can’t wait for the next update, but I don’t see how it’s fanfiction, when they have altered just about everything. It seems pretty original to me. I’ve never really read fanfiction befor, so I don’t know what is ans what isn’t… I just think the story is good, no matter what inspired it.

                • Alyx says:

                  Well, I did say that sometimes it’s closer to the original characters than others, didn’t I? 😀 I don’t think this story is a particularly good example of XWP fanfic, even though it can stand on its own as regular/kinky fiction, as you pointed out. But there are some amazing examples of fan fiction which is very close to the original show. In fact, one of the most famous fanfic writers got so popular that they even had her write a script for an episode! *shaking head* Those were the days. 😀

                  There’s kinky BTVS (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) and Star Trek and Law and Order fanfic….all kinds of stuff out there.

                • Ash says:

                  I remeber Buffy. I used to watch it on TV in the late 90’s. I made my own stake and ran around the playground killing imaginary vampires… 😳

            • Alyx says:

              *Swat!* for the really oldies comment! 😈

  4. tigger0011 says:

    Thanks, Alyx, but all these new stories are gonna get me in trouble! I am not thrilled with my early bedtime right now…

    • Ash says:

      Ya know, Tigger… I wouldn’t mind having a bedtime myself right now. I keep staying up all night, and sleep in. I only have home exams and so I don’t have any lectures until after new year! Imagin not having a bedtime! You might end up like me! Wanna switch? 😀

    • Alyx says:

      Brats (and even some non-brats *g*) have a lot of trouble with bedtime. But it’s really important for your health, so do try to listen to your top. *hug*

  5. JU says:

    The Mockingbird series is great. Almost as good as the Cassie and Nicky stories 😉

  6. Ash says:

    None of the story links work in Chamer’s Fanfiction. 😦 *pout*

  7. Micah says:

    Thank you for the Links, Alyx. I was a huge fan of Xena fan fiction and Charmer was one of my favorites. I thought I had found all the TTWD stories from the fan fiction but I had not read the Mockingbird series. I’ll definitely be checking for new entries by the authors.

  8. sandy1984 says:

    Anyone who wants to read this story better get their skates on, there won’t be any more new chapters on the Fanfic site. The authors apparently want to publish it and will be removing it in a day or two…Alyx, you are a jinx!!

    I’d recommend Stardawns other story, she has a few on her page, but the one I’m following has a whopping 180+ chapters and well over 700 comments. There isn’t really any kinkiness in it, but the story is fantastic! Give it a go, I was hooked after one chapter.

    • Alyx says:

      What?! You’re kidding! Damn, I do feel like a jinx! *arrrgh* Anyway, thanks for letting everyone know, Sandy. I will go make sure I’m up-to-date right now. 🙂

    • Ash says:

      You mean the mockingbird series? I have read all the chapters I could find… I’m waiting for an update, because it ended like there was more. 😦

      • Alyx says:

        That’s what Sandy is telling us, Ash — there will be no more updates because they are not going to put any more free stuff up there. They’ve found a publisher for their story and will be taking everything down. It sucks not to have an ending, but that’s life — you rarely have a clean resolution to everything. 😦

        (And of course you can always buy the book once it’s published.)

Leave a Reply

